10 Colorful Shots of Lima

8

November 3, 2012 by love.antoinette

It surprises me that it took traveling to Lima three times before I finally saw the raw, colorful beauty of this city.

colorful Lima, Peru
The first time I traveled to Peru last year was quite a culture shock, bracing ourselves more than enough times while sitting through traffic, hoping no car or bus would collide with us. The chaotic traffic conditions were more than enough to enduce a heart attack.

colorful Lima, Peru
The second time was basically over indulging in the cuisine and forming a closer bond with the local medical and nursing team, along with the other new volunteers of HCI.

This time around was discovering Lima as a whole.

colorful Lima, Peru
After peeling back the many layers of Lima, from its nauseating diesel fumes and gritty streets, to its dreary weather which often times put me in a dismal mood, its raw beauty finally revealed itself to me.

colorful Lima, Peru
As much as I don’t like to compare places, only because each place fully deserves its own identity, this I’ve got to say: Lima reminds me of a run-down, gritty version of Madrid.

colorful Lima, Peru
I never realized until now how Lima is filled with an abundance of green parks, especially around the San Isidro and Miraflores districts.

colorful Lima, Peru
Aside from that, the city is also filled with grand boulevards, bike lanes and green walkways, overflowing with the chaotic traffic, pedestrians, and street vendors.

colorful Lima, Peru
However, what I’ve come to really love about this city, aside from its cuisine, are the colorful houses, colonial buildings, and other important landmarks. The vivid colors truly pop out, bringing about an incredible contrast against the gray skies that endlessly hover over the city.

colorful Lima, Peru
When the sun sets, and the lights turn on, the city truly shines in its own colorful, mysterious way.

colorful Lima, Peru

 

8 thoughts on “10 Colorful Shots of Lima

  1. So pretty! I can’t wait to visit Peru someday. I don’t know when it will be, but I will definitely get there someday.

  2. megtraveling says:

    This is a great introduction to the city – beautiful pictures!

  3. saving.for.cuba says:

    That house in picture 3!!! Melts me!!!

  4. Ardun Ward says:

    Great photos Antoinette, I really like the one with the tree in front of the red building. I can’t wait to see Lima for myself. Thanks

  5. […] 10 Colorful Shots of Lima (loveantoinette.com) […]

love to hear your thoughts.

Hey There!


I have an insatiable hunger to see the world, having a never-ending love affair with traveling. I live for excitement & adventure from floating on the Dead Sea, hiking the Franz Josef Glacier, learning Samba in Rio de Janeiro, to biking all the 5 boroughs of my NYC, snowboarding, learning how to surf, and navigating new cities with friends or solo. Find out more...

Currently…

back in New York for the Holidays and the snowboard season!

Keep posted of new posts via email.